The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) introduced in 2013 is a way for people under the age of 65 living with a disability to access specialised care across Australia. The NDIS gives people choice and control over their supports. It’s designed to help people with daily living tasks, improve their skills and build independence.


Your eligibility to access the NDIS is determined by the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA).

According to the Access Checklist provided by the NDIA, to be eligible for the National Insurance Disability Scheme (NDIS), you must be:

–  An Australian resident, Australian citizen, permanent visa holders or hold a Protected Special Category Visa
–  Live in an area where the NDIS is available
Under 65 years old
–  Live in an area where the NDIS is available
–  You must have a permanent disability that limits the way you can move, communicate, care for your self or manage life
  You usually need support from a person because of a permanent and significant disability

The National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) Is a government agency that is appointed to implement and manage the NDIS and make sure people with disability continue to get the support they need.

Yes You can. You have the choice to manage the annual funding you receive to fund your services and supports or you can get a professional to assist you with managing and planning.

Support coordinators work together with you and your support networks to identify needs, personalise supports and make sure you are matched with the right services.

Support Coordinators will assist you:

–  Identify services that meet your needs
–  Understand your NDIS funded supports
–  Liaise with government agencies
–  Ensure service agreements and bookings are completed
–  Find suitable accommodation and respite options
–  Helps you access work or other community activities
–  Coordinate health and medical specialists
–  Implement and monitor your NDIS plan or re-develop your goals prior to a plan review.

Skip to content